5 Truths

I was talking to my friend about blogging, and she shared this quote by Brad Paisley with me:

Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365-page book. Write a good one

And at first, I thought I would end up writing a list of resolutions. You know, the cliché “I’m going to work out everyday” or “I’m going to let go of my grudges”. I’m sure I will make that post sometime soon, but I wanted to do something different.

I think this year has been especially fundamental in me realizing truths about myself – truths that aren’t necessarily nice and pretty. Regardless, I feel that I’ve grown up a lot this past year, and while I probably have a lot more growing up to do in the next few years, I’ve learned one important thing. Don’t change yourself for others. And you know, I thought it was complete bull when people told this to me. I thought, why in the world would I ever change myself for someone? On reflecting, I realized that there are many different versions of me – who I am to my friends, who I am to my family, who I am to my enemies. I could go on and on, but I’ve decided it’s time for me to come clean starting with 5 truths about myself that people may not necessarily know.

1. I am an avid-reader of fan fiction.

Well, why not start by jumping off the deep end?

In middle school, I discovered the world of fan fiction. I thought it was embarrassing because I was reading stories by nerds who couldn’t let go of the fact that the book was over. Over time, it became clear to me that this was just a way for readers to explore the world the author had created for them. I find it a pretty neat concept, and I’ve read some amazing stories on these websites. Particularly, I’m still hung up over Harry Potter, so yes, I still do (on occasion) read stories from this website. Judge me or not, but I can guarantee that I’m reading A+ quality writing.

I actually tried to write some, but that was a bust. My mind goes a million miles per minute, and as soon as I get something down, I’m already ten new ideas ahead. Basically, I wouldn’t be good at sitting and working on something for a long time. (There go my dreams of being an author, oops)

2. I dance in front of my mirror. Always.

I think one of the saddest things about college is that I don’t have a mirror (well, I do…but I have two roommates). My imagination goes crazy, and it’s nice because I can dance however I want and no one can say anything. It’s so nice to be back because I can blast my music and dance like there’s no tomorrow.

If you’re judging, try it. It’s a great stress-reliever.

3. I spent more than $200 on my hair.

Okay, so technically it was my mom. When there’s so many other things I could be spending money on, I decided to do it on my hair. My natural hair is wavy and there is a LOT of it. It’s incredibly difficult to manage, and getting a keratin treatment done on it was the best thing possible. One, because it’s a lot more manageable and two, because it’s stick straight (which I find tends to suit me). Bite me about spending money. We all have to splurge sometimes.

4. My GPA is below a 3.0.

I think the worst part of having this GPA is that I know I could’ve done better. I skipped out on work for really no reason except my laziness, but I couldn’t even bring myself to complete my work. I think the freedom of college definitely got to my head, and I could sit here and make empty promises of aiming for all A’s. What I do know is that I’ll definitely cut down on the naps and actually make an attempt to succeed this semester.

5. Life is a wonderful thing.

It’s not really my place to tell, but my friends and I just had a scare where someone’s life was in danger. While it’s being resolved right now, I’ve never really been this close to such a situation. To be honest, the uncertainty is terrifying but I think the human spirit is a wonderful thing. Despite not knowing the person in question, so many people acted to make sure that they were okay. There’s something wonderful about camaraderie and how in the end, we only have each other to endure this mad, mad world.

To the person, I hope with all my heart that you’re alright.

To everyone else, I hope your 2014 is wonderful. I hope mine is amazing, or at the very least, surprising.

Leave a Reply

