“Hit the Lights”

Our 2013 Winter Formal entitled “Hit the Lights” was yesterday. I can’t say I was incredibly happy or surprised with the results, mostly because last year’s formal was similar. Our school’s dances are never that great. Still, I had fun with my good friends. So, without further ado, here was my night:

GETTING READY.

Last year, I got ready with my friends, who helped me with everything. I wasn’t incredibly happy with the results. This year, I decided on going with a different group, who didn’t really care about getting ready together, so we all just got ready separately. I should’ve washed my hair the day before, but being the lazy person I am, I did not. So, I washed my hair that morning and blow-dryed the crap out of it, combing it. It was actually really straight, but I really wanted an up-do.

Hair

So, I was browsing on Pinterest when I came across this updo hairstyle. Granted, it is for a wedding, but I didn’t mind.

1fauxbob10(pp_w890_h1186)

“Vintage Faux Bob”

I never do this type of hairstyle, so I figured there was no harm in trying something new.  I found one flaw though – I can’t really do hair all that well. My mom couldn’t really do it either, so she called this girl that usually helps. Her name’s Myra and she’s really good with hair/makeup/etc type things. She’s actually modeled a couple of times, and been on TV, so she’s learned to do that sort of thing.

While it didn’t come out exactly the way I pictured it would, I was satisfied. What she did was that she divided my hair into two sections – top & bottom section. With the bottom section, she created a sock bun (with a sock! first timer :D) towards the bottom left of my head. She curled the hair in the top section. Taking some of that hair, she braided it and pinned it around my bun. The remaining hair just stayed on the side of my face. I know that sounds super confusing, but I don’t have a clear picture of it, unfortunately. I’ll edit this if my friends upload better pictures with my hair kind of visible.

Makeup

So, for makeup, my mom claims that I always do too much. All I knew was that since I had red heels with my dress, I would do red lips. Anyways, let me just go through the process.

First, I used MAC Prep + Prime which is basically a base for your makeup. It’s nice to put underneath makeup so that your skin doesn’t look super dry and it helps even out your makeup. I just used my fingers because I’m not the biggest fashion guru out there, and I don’t have brushes designed to put on primer (do they even have those? probably). Second, I used my liquid foundation MAC Studio Fix Liquid in NC44. I lost my new foundation, which made sure my skin didn’t breakout and was very light, so I had to use this. It’s not bad – it actually matches my skin well. The only thing is, it’s a bit heavy so I tend to start breaking out after a while. I set the look with Laura Mercier Mineral Pressed Powder in Golden Suntan. To be honest, once I put it on, my skin looked a bit darker, but the shininess from the foundation was gone.

For my eyes, I used Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. Then, I used this charcoal grey color from my Victoria Secret eye shadow set. It comes out pretty light on skin, and you really have to put quite a bit on to see some color. Towards the edge, I put MAC eyeshadow (Print Satin) and dragged that into the crease. I blended it a bit, and it didn’t look too bad. After that, I lined my eyes with my gel eyeliner from Rimmel London. I really like gel eyeliner, because it gives you a lot more control then liquid or pencil eyeliner do. For my waterline, however, I used a pencil eyeliner.

For my lips, I put some rose salve on before I put M.A.C Red (by MAC, A99). I put about two-three application, making sure to blot in between each time. Overall, I thought the lips popped nicely against the black and silver dress and matched with my nails/heels.

I put on some blush aaaaaand that was that.

Dress

The dress was my mom’s from about two years ago, so needless to say, no one had it. It was a bit loose, but I think it looks fine. Pictures soon!

Photo Booth pictures!

Photo Booth pictures!

 

THE ACTUAL EVENT

So, all in all, it was pretty boring. We went to souplantation, which was pretty good. The food was cheap (one of my friends even found a coupon). I had salad, biscuits, foccacia bread, baked potato, apple cobbler with ice cream, blueberry muffin with ice cream, and a soda (even though I was supposed to go water #rebel). It was really good. Needless to say, we were stuffed which was good considering that there was nothing at the actual event.

After that, parents picked us up and we went to the actual venue. It was about 30-45 minutes, give or take, so not bad all in all. We were early, so we had to wait in the cold. Slowly, people started to show up (like freshman in limos – yeah, I know). Soon enough, we were in line to get through security. Yeah, that’s how cool we are. For the past few years, they’ve had security to make sure we don’t sneak in booze or anything like that. The guys get patted down while the girls’ purses/jackets get searched. When it was my turn, I got stopped and they let the guys’ dates in. The guys’ line is always shorter, so I suppose they wanted to go in with their dates but still. We had been waiting for a good 5-10 minutes, and they were just going to waltz right past us? No way. I made sure that the girls who passed us knew my opinion loud and clear. Jeez, just because my group went stag doesn’t mean that they can just make us wait. On top of that, they made me put an eye drop in (I brought drops which help when my contacts irritate my eye), just to make sure it wasn’t something else. Really… This isn’t airport security, people.

Finally, we were all in. So, the place would’ve been really pretty had we been able to see it. Since it was so dark, we couldn’t really appreciate it fully. Let’s just say it was really cold. Now, I won’t bore you with the morbid details. Basically, they only served cookies and brownies (the shock & horror), but the drinks were good (they serves shirley temples!). My friend wanted to get a caricature done, so we waited in line for about 2 hours (I know), and by the time we were done, there was only half an hour left of the dance. We danced a bit, but the DJ sucked, so we went to the Photo Booth. We got picked up. The End!

I mean, sure, there were a few laughs here and there, but for the most part, it was just an average formal – not too boring, not too exciting.

I might post some pictures later.

Until later,

shivaaani (:

Leave a Reply

