Blast from the Past

So, I was doing something I never do.

Cleaning.

If you know me, I’m sure you’d be surprised. For those of you who don’t, let me just put it this way – I’m finding stuff from ninth grade (that’s about four years ago). Basically, I’m the laziest of the lazy. It’s actually not too bad though. It’s like a trip down memory lane. Seeing all this old word is triggering memories from my high school career and it’s pretty cool as well as a bit sad, considering this is my last year in high school.

Anyways, I found this poem I wrote from ninth grade and I’m pretty sure it is the best poem I have ever written hands down. Maybe I’ll publish it one day. Probably not, but whatever. So, I forgot what the topic was (or if we even had one) but I’m pretty sure we had to use a variety of literary devices. Here is the amazing poem in picture.

Image

the game of life!

In case you can’t read it, I’ll type it up for you.

Game of Life

by Shivani Patel

Life is a Game.

Oh look – there’s go.

Advance two spaces.

Start paying – there’s elementary school.

Bad roll – advance to your nearest middle school.

Spend seventh in solitude – skip a turn.

Here comes high school smacking into you.

Eventually, eleventh ends and the end is near.

Is it a bird?

Is it a plane?

No – it’s college applications!

All seems hopeless – you can’t possibly win this horrid “high school” –

Or can you?

Suddenly, the sun shines and you’re throwing graduation caps into the balmy air.

Suddenly, you’re twenty and hopelessly caught

Caught in the Game of Life.

I’d say this is pretty accurate, at least in my case. Who knew I was such a genius back in ninth grade? Just kidding. Maybe. I think it deserved that extra point. Psh. I can’t believe he gave me a 19/20. This is most likely my best work in poems to date.

Well, I have to get back to cleaning my room but I just wanted to share that.

BEST,

shivaaani (:

Leave a Reply

